Start website main content

Departments of Excellence

After funding was established by Law 232 of 2016 and the Budget Act of 2017, the Departments of Excellence were selected within Italian public Universities by an ad-hoc Commission nominated by MIUR (the Ministry of Universities and Research). Selection criteria comprised quality of research, as assessed by the VQR 2011-2014, as well as development projects submitted by candidate departments.

Among 180 awards distributed nation-wide, the Sant’Anna School of Advanced Studies obtained funding for two Departments of Excellence; one will be part of the Faculty of Experimental and Applied Sciences, and the other of the Faculty of Social Sciences (funding will cover a five-year period, from 2018 to 2022).

Economics and Management in the era of Data  Science (EMbeDS)