Main Campus - ex Sant'Anna Convent
The Main Campus of the Sant’Anna School of Advanced Studies is located within the former convent of Sant’Anna, originally a fourteenth-century Benedictine nunnery that was suppressed in 1786 by order of Pietro Leopoldo of Lorraine. The building still preserves valuable traces of its past: on the walls of the cloister—around which classrooms, offices, and common areas are arranged—visitors can see extensive remains of frescoes and a column dating back to the 13th century.
At the heart of the School’s life, the Main Campus is surrounded by greenery and overlooks Piazza Martiri della Libertà—known to locals as Piazza Santa Caterina—dominated by the nineteenth-century statue of Pietro Leopoldo.
The complex also houses the Main Campus College, which accommodates the School’s students with 84 beds divided among 40 single rooms and 22 double rooms, creating a lively, integrated environment for study and daily life.